Words of Wisdom from your mother

J is very much my son. You know what I mean, I look at him and I see so many similarities to myself. It’s kind of amazing and terrifying all at the same time. I finally understand what my mother meant when she said, “Just wait. You’re children will be exactly like you.” At the time I thought, “Wonderful! I should be so lucky, I’m an amazing kid.” And to be fair I was (mostly), but there and certain, ahem, challenging aspects of my personality as there are with everyone’s. How did my mother recognize these traits so well? Because she was raising a daughter just like her.

This is one of the many things in my life that my mother has wound up being correct about. It seemed like a mom super power growing up, heck it still kind of seems like a super power. I can’t help but wonder, what things will I tell my boys that they will brush aside only to realize the value of later? I hope that I’m as wise as my own mother and that I can offer them many insights into themselves and the world around them. Of course, because their my children they’ll probably brush them off and have to find out for themselves but that’s alright, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Leave a Reply

