5 Things My Toddler Has Taught Me

5 Things My Toddler Has Taught Me
5 Things My Toddler Has                               Taught Me

Being the parent of a toddler is a sometimes a little bit like being a firefighter living with an arsonist.  It can be a test of willpower and sanity guiding these little humans through the adventures of everyday life, but there is nothing as genuine as J’s smile or as heartwarming as hearing him say, “I love you.”

Although as parents we have a lot to teach our children, in my short time as a mother I’ve found they’ve taught me so, so much more than I them and the lessons they’ve taught me are more precious and important than I could have ever imagined. Here are just a few things  of the things J has taught me since entering this exciting and terrifying phase known as toddlerhood.

1. Wake Up with a Bang: It doesn’t matter if J wakes up in a good mood or crying, he’s ready to GO. He greats each day with enthusiasm, no sleeping in, no dragging his feet.

2. Everyone is a friend: Today as we were getting out of the elevator at the mall J saw another little boy about his age. He immediately started giggling and so did the other little boy, and they were immediately buddies.

3. Believe in yourself: J tackles any and all obstacles with the complete faith that the only possibility is success. This can be more than a little terrifying as my not-even-two-year-old tries to scale a rock wall taller than I am, while I try to persuade him to come down without dropping A. That aside, it’s an admiral quality and one I hope he never loses.

4. Take time to appreciate the small things: Today on a walk J took 15 minutes and literally smell the roses. He was amazed at the color, the smell, the texture, everything about them. Watching him explore encouraged me to slow down, appreciate the beauty of the flowers and this time with my son.

5. Don’t Dwell on the Bad: When something doesn’t go J’s way he doesn’t let it keep him down. Whether someone took the toy he was playing with, or the hubs and I telling him, “No,” before you know it J has picked himself on and moved on. He doesn’t let one or even multiple disappointments ruin his day, he  doesn’t dwell. Sure, he might have a good cry, but once that’s done he moves on head held high and ready to tackle whatever life throws at him.

There are so many things that J and A have taught me, that this list could go on and on. The lessons they’ve taught me have made me a better, stronger, and more loving and patient person. I’m curious, what lessons can you add to this list?

One thought on “5 Things My Toddler Has Taught Me

Leave a Reply

