A Business Proposal!

image

For a while now, I’ve been at war with myself. I LOVE being at home with J and A in so many ways, yet it isn’t exactly mentally challenging. Well, it can be challenging to my sanity at times (like when they are both insisting on wrestling in the bath tub), but I miss the mental stimulation from my pre-mommy career as a teacher. I missed the structure, the deadlines, the autonomy but I definitely didn’t miss the set hours and the fact that I would be away from my kids for so long each day (let alone the work teachers take home).

Enter the war, do I stay at home or do I go back to work? What is the best solution for our family? For my soul? I wasn’t sure, but then I got inspired. We all have that super cool friend, don’t we? Well, to be honest all of my best friends are super cool and I aspire to be like them in many ways, but I digress. One or my friends, has always marched to the beat of her own drum. When we were in our early 20s she traveled the world by herself and on one of these trips she found herself a husband. To simplify things, it was love at first sight, followed by a whirlwind romance, a wedding very shortly thereafter, and they’ve been living happily ever after for 7 years now.

How do they figure into my story? Well, they are entrepreneurs. They have several businesses and both manage to work from home, which is the best of both worlds! I can set my own schedule and still get the fulfillment of a career. Winning!

So, I set to thinking about what I could do. I made a list of my skills and passions and from a long list, I whittled it down to two I felt were the most important to me. 
1) Educating young minds and creating an excitement about learning.
2) Creating a community for parents to help them be the best parents they can be.
From these two principals, I am in the process of planning and opening my first business, Play, Craft, Love. Play, Craft, Love is a program for kids, ages 6 months – 3 years, and their parents.
The program provides hands on activities (sensory activities as well as crafting partnered with stories) that develop cognitive and motor skills as well as promoting early literacy and developing skills needed for pre-school, in a format that engages both parent and child.
As anyone who’s opened a successful business can tell you, research is key! So I have a favor to ask. If you are the parent of a child under 3, could you click the link at the bottom of this page and take a survey?

The survey is 10 questions and takes less than 5 minutes to complete. I’d love your insights! If you have any additional thoughts, feel free to comment below or email me at rain.dancing.mama@gmail.com. THANKS!

Play, Craft, Love Survey

2 thoughts on “A Business Proposal!

  1. I think that sounds like a great idea. I completed your survey. My family wouldn’t be interested only because we’re on such a tight budget but I think most people would be glad to spend some cash on something like this. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

